On A Beach In December

As I watched a lark one day,
In all its gliding glory,
Flying and swooping around the bay,
Like a bird set free in story,
The thoughts that imprinted on my mind,
Of you, in water,
Flooded my mind and took me blind,
I could not prevent the flood of time-
For as the lark soared and dived
So it reminded me of your life:
Your sparkling eyes, your fragile form,
Stolen and broken, like by a storm.

For it is when I am standing here and watching birds that I remember,
Memories of you,
On a beach,
In December.

Leave a Reply

